Laureates of Pulitzer Prize announced

Laureates of Pulitzer Prize

Alaska’s Anchorage Daily News and the ProPublica website won the main nomination.

The Pulitzer Prize in the main category “For Public Service” was awarded to Anchorage Daily News and the online publication ProPublica for their joint investigation of sexual violence in Alaska.

In the News Photo category, photographers from Reuters received the award for reporting on the protests in Hong Kong.

Courier-Journal from Kentucky received the award for outstanding submission of sensationalist material for its coverage of Governor Matt Bevin’s pardon orders.

The award for outstanding investigation was received by New York Times correspondent Brian Rosenthal, who described how thousands of New York taxi drivers were victims of predatory lending.

The Pulitzer Prize, considered the most prestigious award in American journalism, has been awarded since 1917, according to the will of publisher Joseph Pulitzer. This year’s announcement of the winners was postponed by two weeks because some Pulitzer Commission journalists were busy covering the Coronavirus pandemic and did not have time to evaluate all the candidates.

The award is usually presented in front of a large audience at Columbia University in New York. This time the administrator of the Pulitzer Prize Dana Kanedi announced the winners from her own living room after the committee members selected the finalists following a virtual discussion.

Share to friends
Killian Jones

Author: Killian Jones
Graduated From Princeton University.He has been at the USTV since 2017.
Function: Chief-Editor

Rate author